ABOUT

SCIENCE

PATIENTS

VGB-R04

Hemophilia B is an inherited, X-linked, recessive disorder that results from deficiency of the functional plasma coagulation factor IX (hFIX). People with hemophilia B bleed longer than other people. Bleeds can occur into joints, soft tissues and mucous membranes. Hemophilia occurs in approximately 1 in 50,000 males worldwide.  The main medication to treat hemophilia B is concentrated FIX product. There is currently no cure for hemophilia. 

VGB-R04 treatment strategy: replacement of the defective factor IX gene by ssAAV8 delivery of a functional factor IX transgene via iv injection for hepatic expression and secretion.
VGB-R04 is a rAAV product containing a variant hFIX Padua expression cassette under the control of a liver specific promoter. The hFIX Padua variant is a natural mutant found in an HB family with increased specific activity. After intravenous injection of VGB-R04, the hFIX expression cassette will be delivered into the liver cells and become episomal to continuously express and secret hFIX Padua protein into the circulation to replace the missing hFIX protein to normalize the blood clotting function in hemophilia B patients. Due to its expected long-term expression of hFIX, this product will be a one-time i.v. administration to provide long-term treatment for the hemophilia B patients.
Vitalgen has initiated and carried out a clinical study and is currently recruiting. Learn More

VGB-R04 was granted a tacit approval for clinical trials by NMPA on April, 2022. VGB-R04 was also granted ODD by FDA on December, 2021, which is the first in vivo gene therapy product developed in China for hemophilia B that has received ODD.

关于Vitalgen

我们的科学

我们的患者

VGB-R04

血友病B为凝血因子IX基因缺陷导致的X连锁隐形遗传性出血性疾病,以身体负重关节、软组织及粘膜等身体部位损伤后过量出血或自发性出血为其典型临床特征。绝大部分患者为男性,男性发病率为1/50,000。目前主要的治疗方法为注射血浆或凝血因子等替代疗法,无法根治。

VGB-R04通过静脉注射实现肝脏特异性FIX基因替代和酶分泌,纠正血液FIX活性达到生理水平,治疗血友病B:
VGB-R04在静脉注射后,通过AAV衣壳蛋白介导的肝脏细胞转导,将表达盒递送至细胞核。VGB-R04表达盒以游离DNA的形式存在,在肝脏细胞中表达凝血因子Ⅸ高活性天然变体(hFIX Padua)蛋白。肝脏表达并分泌入血的hFIX Padua蛋白替代缺失的先天性凝血因子IX发挥作用,从而纠正血友病B患者的凝血障碍,以期采用基因替代疗法从根本治愈该单基因遗传病,达到一次给药、长期有效的目的。
公司已开展该项目的临床研究,正在招募中。了解更多

VGB-R04已于2022年4月获得NMPA临床试验默示许可,并于2021年12月获得美国FDA的孤儿药认定(ODD),这也是首个中国自主研发用于血友病B的体内基因治疗产品获得该认定。